Hearty Black Bean Soup

Hearty black bean soup

As a busy working Mom, I am always looking for quick and easy recipes that are safe for my gluten-free and vegan 11 year-old. This hearty and fiber-rich black bean soup simmered away in my crock pot for two days and the high protein was a much needed added plus. We served it with gluten-free bread and vegan butter spread on a cold snowy night.  My son thought it tasted like the black beans he eats at Chipotle. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound dried black beans
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 cups chopped onion
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Preparation

1. Sort and wash beans; place in a large bowl. Cover with water to 2 inches above beans; cover and let stand 8 hours. Drain.
2. Combine beans, broth, and next 5 ingredients in a crock pot. Cover and cook on LOW 10 hours. Discard bay leaves. Stir in juice and salt. Ladle 1 1/2 cups soup into each of 6 bowls; sprinkle each with 2 teaspoons chopped cilantro. 

4 responses to “Hearty Black Bean Soup

  1. Pingback: The Benefits of Black Beans + Gluten Free Recipes!

  2. Yours is the first soup I’ve found with no tomatoes and with beans that are not canned, which is exactly what I was looking for I just have one question. Step 2 directs one to combine beans and broth and the next 5 ingredients, which would be onion, water, cumin, bay leaves, and lime juice. But it also states that after 10 hours discard the bay leaves and stir in the juice. So, does the juice go in at the beginning or the end? Is there an ingredient missing?

  3. Hi Deborah. Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m sorry I forgot to list a finely chopped serrano chile as an ingredient since this version is kid friendly. If you like heat, add it with the cumin. Enjoy! ~Patty

  4. I really enjoy reading your blog and get so inspired to try new recipes. Thank you for putting all of this information out there. I love that your recipes are kid-friendly.

Leave a comment