Mrs. W and Udi’s to the Gluten-Free Rescue

Gluten-Free Cinnamon Rolls from Udi's

On Friday my gluten-free kid (GFK) came home to report that he was being rewarded for good school behavior with a lunch dessert  with his teacher and a few other class mates.  I was thrilled and not surprised because he is super sweet and a really great kid.  So, I was filled with pride and joy until I thought about all of the details that were going to go into this treat.  I immediately emailed his teacher to suggest some things that might work for the GFK and that his friends would enjoy too.  My fear was that she might show up with a gluten filled chocolate cake or a yummy treat from Dairy Queen and that my GFK would feel left out and sad that he couldn’t enjoy it.  Well, I didn’t hear back from her until Monday morning and I obviously didn’t give her enough credit.

Since I hadn’t heard from her, I ended up sending supplies for a gluten-free, dairy free root beer float only to read an email from Mrs. W that informed me she had actually bought SAFE gluten-free cinnamon rolls from Udi’s!  Now, why didn’t I think of that?  Can you feel my gratitude in this post?  My gratitude for her “really getting it?”  I love her!  And, I love Udi’s for having tasty treats that are well labeled for those who don’t live with dietary restrictions.  And, I love Udi’s for being available in our local grocery stores so they are easy to find.  So, thank you again Mrs. W for being so caring and for taking such good care of my GFK!

The GFK and his friends really scored yesterday because his super cool teacher allowed them to enjoy gluten-free cinnamon rolls AND safe root beer floats.  And, I learned to let go just a little bit.  I can’t always be there for every food related thing for the GFK but I am surrounded by some great people who do listen to all of my educating on the gluten-free and food allergy lifestyle.  Many of these very special people are appreciated more than they can understand and I wanted to take a moment again to say THANK YOU!

Tell me about the special people in your life who really get it when it comes to living gluten-free or with food allergies.

One response to “Mrs. W and Udi’s to the Gluten-Free Rescue

  1. Hi! Can I come over for our gluten-free cinnamon rolls and root beer floats, too?

    Wow! That’s a sugar coma waiting to happen.

    Just read your blog and greatly appreciate reading your story.

    At Udi’s Gluten Free, we take dietary restrictions and food allergies very seriously and label all of our baked goods with the Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Nut Free and Soy Free label. Just a part of our mission in making gluten free delicious and your life easier!

    Be Udiful,

    – Heather

    Heather Collins
    Udi’s Gluten Free Foods
    heather@udisfood.com

Leave a Reply

