Valentine’s Day Sugar Cookies and Dairy Free Chocolate Hearts

Gluten-Free Sugar Cookies made with Doodles Cookie Mix

Happy Valentine’s Day my beloved readers!  I am late in posting because we have had a very sick household. Thankfully, all 5 of us are finally healthy just in time for me to bake up some sweet treats to celebrate Valentine’s Day and the one year anniversary of my blog.  That’s right friends, Gluten-Free Joy has turned one today.

To celebrate, I baked some gluten-free sugar cookies sent to me by Deborah at Doodle’s Cookies.  I have been anxiously waiting to try this mix and it was quick and easy to make, just what I look for being a busy mom.  These all natural, organic, gluten-free cookies turned out nicely and the kids liked them.  The gluten-free sugar cookies were sturdy, not crumbly and were easy to decorate. You can choose your own flavoring by adding vanilla, lemon or almond extract.  We used vanilla and I think next time I will add more than the suggested 1/2 teaspoon to get a bit more flavor.  I froze a few for the gluten-free kid (GFK) to take to upcoming school functions and I think they will be great thawed out.  I would definitely buy this easy mix to keep on hand if Doodles was available in Colorado stores.  Are you listening Whole Foods, Vitamin Cottage and Sunflower Market?  Doodles also offers gluten-free chocolate chip, gluten-free double chocolate chip habanero and gluten-free nut butter.  I can’t wait to use Sunbutter and try the nut butter cookie mix.  The company is also developing organic and gluten-free cake mixes so be on the lookout for those.  For now, you can visit Doodles here and order them online for $6.50 each.

Dairy Free Chocolate Valentine's Day Hearts

To celebrate love day, we also melted up some Baker’s semi-sweet chocolate and made some nut free and dairy free chocolate hearts.  If you or your loved ones are dairy free and gluten-free, you know it can be difficult to find holiday treats to celebrate with.  So, we made our own.  They turned out cute but were a bit chalky.  Overall, they satisfied the GFK to feel like he had some real Valentine’s Day candy.  I really wish I could find some dairy free white chocolate.  We could really have some fun with that.  If you know of any, please let me know.

Thank you for your support during my first year of gluten-free blogging.  I hope I have been able to help some of you out there with fun ideas, recipes or just knowing you aren’t alone on this food allergy or gluten-free journey.  Please let me know if there are other topics you would like to know about and I hope you continue to stop by to visit me on my beloved gluten-free joy blog.  Happy Valentine’s Day!

One response to “Valentine’s Day Sugar Cookies and Dairy Free Chocolate Hearts

  1. Thank you so very much!!! I am so happy you and your family enjoyed our Sugar Cookies 🙂 Thank you so much for also posting something on lovealocalbusiness.com. I truly appreciate your support. Oh if you know you WholeFoods store manager let him/her know that we are in the WholeFoods database they can order anytime we ship direct 🙂 Thanks again!!! We love all of our customers

Leave a Reply

