Gluten-Free Dairy Free Pumpkin Donuts

 

Gluten-Free, Dairy Free Pumpkin Doughnuts

With Thanksgiving only a week away, I have pumpkin pie spices and baked goods on my mind so when I learned that there was a birthday party in my 4 year-old’s pre-school class that I would need to supply a safe treat for I got excited.  An excuse to come up with another “safe” treat.  Even though my 4 year-old does eat gluten, I have made it a rule to only bake “safe” treats in our home that the Gluten-Free Kid (GFK) can enjoy as well.

Being a busy mom to three kiddos didn’t leave me a lot of time so I looked to my good friend Betty Crocker for some quick inspiration.  I whipped up a box of Betty Crocker’s Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix with a cup of pumpkin and a dash of pumpkin pie spice.  Then, instead of my usual cupcakes I baked these tasty morsels in my donut pan and we got sweet success!  Gluten-Free, dairy free pumpkin cake donuts, yummy!  The kids ate them plain for dessert last night and today I frosted one and decorated it with sprinkles so it looks like a typical bakery cake doughnut the other kids will be having at pre-school.

 

4 responses to “Gluten-Free Dairy Free Pumpkin Donuts

  1. These look so wonderful! I love using a basic cake mix to make other things! Nice work!

    I have yet to try this new GF Betty Crocker cake mix in my 10 minute in the microwave process. I’ll post when I do.

  2. What a great idea. I have never even heard of a donut pan.

  3. So I made a version of this- and they are SO GOOD

    I didn’t put anything in that it calls for. Instead I made it WW friendly with
    1/4 cup egg beaters
    1 can pumpkin
    2 tsp vanilla
    1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
    1/2 tsp cinnamon

    My dad can’t eat these things fast enough! They are so dangerously delicious!
    Since my mom and I are on WW we try to lighten cakes up with this method (I’ve also made regular cake mix with a can of diet soda, which works surprisingly well) and with this substitution, and 19 muffins, I believe we are at 2 pts a pop.
    Thanks for the inspiration! I’ll try my donut pan or mini muffin tins next time- cause there WILL be one!

  4. These sound tasty Emily. I will try this version next time and let you know how it goes. Hope you are enjoying your holidays. Looks like snow tonight:) ~Patty

Leave a Reply

