It’s the Great (Gluten-Free) Pumpkin Charlie Brown

215px-Great_pumpkin_charlie_brown_title_cardI am going to let you in on a little secret.  When the gluten-free kid (GFK) was a toddler, I was very overwhelmed with Halloween candy and the fact that my little boy couldn’t eat the majority of it due to his 35 food allergies and Celiac diagnosis.

I took matters into my own hands and told him all about the Great Pumpkin and how if he left his Halloween candy with a letter to the Great Pumpkin outside of his door on Halloween night, something magical would appear the next morning.  We have been having this fun with all 3 kids now for at least 6 years and they love it.  I love it because the candy is out of the house and the kids instead get a decent toy they have been longing for without the sugar rush from candy or the temptation to try something the GFK is allergic to.

On Halloween night, the kids go trick-or-treating, when they come home I swap out un-safe candy for “safe” candy and they eat up as much as they want that evening.  Then, they put all of it in the hallway with really cute letters to the Great Pumpkin and when they wake there is a fantastic toy that they enjoy much more than the sweets.  I then donate the candy to organizations that send it to our troops who are away.  And I get to keep the sweet letters for myself.  A win-win for all!

Please share what creative things you do with your Halloween candy or if you try the Great Pumpkin this year, let me know how it goes.  I would love to hear more ideas!

5 responses to “It’s the Great (Gluten-Free) Pumpkin Charlie Brown

  1. This is a GREAT idea – even for non-allergic kids. You could swap out candy for something else they’ve really been wanting. Love it!

  2. I’ve always loved that you guys have done this!!

  3. Could you send a sample letter one of the kids wrote to the great pumpkin..I printed this post and showed it to my hubby..we LOVE the idea and will implement it this yr. Thanks soo much for the idea..we too want to get the candy out of the house!!

  4. Thanks for sharing your tradition and now it can be ours too!

  5. We watched The Great Pumpkin…. this week and discussed the concept of leaving most of our candy for him on Halloween night. My five year old was very excited about this act and had no problem handing over his candy.However, my three year old chose to give TGP one Starburst. I knew this was going to be an issue, so I stuck the presents along with more candy than I wanted into the gift sack. I think after a day of eating alot of sweets I can now hide it and pull out one sweet over the week and it won’t be a big deal. It was a great tradition we will do for years to come.

Leave a Reply

