Gluten-Free Gratitude – Let’s hear your RAVES

GFK in soccer camp at age 4

GFK in soccer camp at age 4

Stacy was a casual church acquaintance who became a life-long friend because of a food choice and a soccer camp almost 6 years ago.  Back then my son, the gluten-free kid (GFK) was only 4 and severely allergic to more than 35 foods.  Food allergies and Celiac Disease were not as common as they are today and I felt alone and scared to let my GFK participate in things that most parents don’t think twice about.  I remember trying to let the GFK go to the soccer camp Stacy was running. The only problem was the popsicles served at break time.  I was nervous and explained the situation to Stacy. She went so out of her way for us that it still makes my teary thinking about it.  She hit the stores knowing what ingredients the GFK had to avoid and came back with a special box just for him.  She says it was a small thing, that it was no big deal, but I was so thankful and happy that I brought her a small trinket of a thank you gift the next day. We have been dear friends ever since.

I am happy to report that I am collecting more and more happy and thankful stories like this one as time goes on.  A more recent incident involves my good friend Pam who planned her son’s entire 10-year-old birthday sleepover party around my GFK being able to participate and feel comfortable.  She took 6 boys to Beau Jo’s for gluten-free and dairy-free pizza and even made gluten-free Fruity Pebble Treats for the birthday cake.  My GFK was so happy he was able to go to a party and feel normal.  There aren’t enough words to describe my gratitude for good experiences like these.

More shout outs need to go to my neighbor Emma who keeps a “safe food” box on hand for the GFK and last weekend bought a box of Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Brownie mix to bake while he was over for a play date.  And, of course my family.  Here in Colorado there are 7 grandkids and the GFK is the oldest.  My family only brings safe chips to family events and fills the Easter eggs with safe candy or toys instead of the typical chocolate favorites.  My Mom even called this week to report all of the “safe” Halloween candy she picked up.

So, while I love Gluten-Free Steve’s Rant post on his blog, I thought I would give you all a chance to post about your gluten-free or food allergy related RAVES here.  Let’s celebrate all of the great people who go out of their way to help those with food allergies or a gluten-free diet.  Tell me about your angels and let’s celebrate our gluten-free gratitude.

5 responses to “Gluten-Free Gratitude – Let’s hear your RAVES

  1. One time when I was babysitting the GFK and his sister and brother, a Mom called from Ben’s school to say that her son had a birthday the next day at school and she wanted to know what foods were safe for Ben so that he could participate in the school celebration. Her son felt bad that every time someone at school had a birthday Ben couldnb’t eat what the rest of the kids ate so he wanted to bring something safe. I told her fruit was safe and so the next day she brought in cut up fruit for all of the kids to celebrate her sons birthday.

  2. Gluten Free Steve

    Joy, it’s those people in our lives that go just that tiny little bit of an extra step that make things so much better, doesn’t it? I have a friend who was planning a b-day party for her 4 year old. She called me and wanted to be sure I could eat when I was there with her family and our friends. I said, this is your son’s birthday, and I’ll manage around it. She wouldn’t hear of it. She read me every ingredient of everything she was using and even made sure I had a treat to eat when the cake for her son was being served. What good friends we have – we are blessed.

  3. I love to hear stories like these Steve. There are some amazingly kind people in this world. And, they have no idea how much their kindness is appreciated. I agree…we are very blessed! ~Patty Rons Beyers

  4. Hey Patty – such great stories!! Can you share the fruity pebble treat recipe? Is it just like rice krispie treats, but with swapped out cereals? And… are marshmellows safe? 🙂 Thanks!

  5. I love your story! My twin sister and I recently when gluten free, and I have never felt better. I used to get horrible migraines at least once or twice a week that pretty much made me bed-ridden. Since I stopped eating gluten, I no longer get migraines. I am so happy with life now, and don’t miss bread for one second!! Being gluten free does bring up challenges, especially when eating out or with other people, but it is worth it.

Leave a Reply

