Gluten-Free Pumpkin Layer Cake

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Layer Cake

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Layer Cake

I love layers!  I love layering sweaters in the fall, I love layers in my hair and most of all I love layering flavors when I bake.  Yesterday I was itching to try to convert an old favorite recipe from our pre gluten-free days and I decided to give it a whirl sans gluten.  Wow!  This moist and delicious Gluten-Free Pumpkin Layer Cake combines a lovely yellow cake with a layer of seasonal pumpkin pie like filling and is topped with another layer of crispy sweet sugar and cinnamon.  Delish!  And, it was super easy thanks to Betty Crocker’s Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix. This might even be our new Thanksgiving dessert.

This recipe originally calls for Muirhead Pumpkin Pecan Butter but since my Gluten-Free Kid (GFK) is also allergic to dairy and all nuts, I replaced it with Libby’s plain old pumpkin.  If you can tolerate nuts, you might try to track down a jar of the Muirhead at Williams-Sonoma or you can do it as I did.  My recipe is gluten-free, dairy free and nut free.  Enjoy!

Gluten-Free Pumpkin Layer Cake

Ingredients:

1 Box Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Yellow Cake Mix (reserve 1 cup for topping)

1 egg

1/2 cup melted Smart Balance Vegan Margarine

1 teaspoon gluten-free vanilla

1 cup Libby’s pumpkin

2 eggs

2 Tablespoons vanilla rice milk

1 Tablespoon gluten-free flour (I use Jules’ mix)

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup softened Smart Balance

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1.  Mix gluten-free cake mix, melted margarine, one egg and vanilla for 2 minutes until fluffy.  Press lightly into bottom of greased 9×13 pan.

2.  Mix the pumpkin, 2 eggs and rice milk until blended and pour over the cake mixture.

3.  Stir together the remaining gluten-free cake mix, gluten-free flour, sugar, softened margarine and cinnamon until mixture has a crumbled texture.  Spread the crumbled mixture over the pumpkin layer.  Bake at 350 for 40 minutes or until golden.

10 responses to “Gluten-Free Pumpkin Layer Cake

  1. This looks amazing. I have been looking for new ways to use pumpkin other than my standard pumpkin muffins.

    My children love the yellow cake mix from Betty Crocker. Each Friday night we make one of the mixes as a celebration of finishing yet another week of school.

  2. What a great idea Betsy. We might have to begin a Friday night tradition as well. Let me know what you think of this one. ~Patty

  3. Patty…this looks beautiful and yummy. We will have to give it a try!

  4. I love layers too 🙂 Awesome cake! Thanks for submitting!!

  5. Thanks for participating, be sure to check my blog to see the round-up.

  6. Oh! Now I really wish they had the GF Betty Crocker Mixes in Canada – this looks fabulous =D.

  7. This looks so yummy! Love the crumbly layer on top! I’m glad the Betty Crocker cake mix worked out well!

  8. That looks like something my family would love. Thanks for the recipe.

  9. Great looking cake. I never would have thought to use pumpkin this way. It looks delicious.

  10. Love the fluffy sugar and Cinnamon on the top, I can only imagine how that feels in the mouth! Can’t wait to try it out my self!

Leave a Reply

