Simply Gluten Free in Southern California

Jean Gordon and Stephanie Gordon Barkman at Simply Gluten FreeLast week the five of us headed back to my hometown of Thousand Oaks, California for a dear friend’s wedding.  Being born and raised in Southern California, I like to think that it’s a pretty healthy and gluten-free friendly kind of place.  I was wrong. 

After trips to Ralph’s, Vons, Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods over a 24-hour period, I learned quickly that Colorado stores are years ahead of Southern California in gluten-free food.  I couldn’t find any of our favorite stand-by foods until I discovered a new specialty store on Thousand Oaks Blvd. that caters only to the gluten-free community.  It’s the first of its kind in Ventura County and it’s great.  Customers can save time and avoid long lines at multiple grocery stores by visiting this one-stop gluten-free haven.

Simply Gluten Free offers a wide selection of gluten-free foods from some of our favorite brands, including Amy’s, Udi’s, Ian’s, Annie’s, Ener-G, Enjoy Life, Bob’s Red Mill, French Meadow, Cherry Brook Kitchen, Garlic Jim’s and many others.  They also offer a great gluten-free gift basket for those recently diagnosed that includes a variety of snacks, The Gluten Free Bible and a copy of Living Without Magazine.  What a life saver for those who are still figuring out what to eat!

Simply Gluten Free is owned by Debbie Sipos and Jean Gordon.  Jean was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2007 and happens to be a relative of a childhood friend of mine. Debbie’s father is also gluten sensitive. Together they set out on a journey that led them to open this much needed specialty shop.  

Next summer on our annual trek back home, I plan to send them my list of needed gluten-free foods for my gluten-free kid (GFK). Then I can swing by to pick them up on our way into town.  That leaves more time to run in the waves at my favorite beach!

You can visit Simply Gluten Free’s Web site at www.simply-glutenfree.com or stop by to see them in person at 1321 E. Thousand Oaks Blvd.

3 responses to “Simply Gluten Free in Southern California

  1. We have the same problem each time we visit San Diego. We are planning to visit the Sensitive Baker in LA when we go to SD for Christmas. I will have to add this place to my list of places to buy food.

  2. This is so interesting that I LITERALLY was just here, you are now in Colorado and I am from Colorado and all our coincidences.

  3. Wow, this is looking so yummy and I immediately want to make this.
    Thanks for the recipe.
    Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

