Review: Betty Crocker’s Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix

 

Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cupcakes

Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cupcakes

On June 1, Betty Crocker launched its four new mixes – Gluten Free Yellow Cake, Gluten Free Devil’s Food, Gluten Free Brownie and Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie.  As soon as I saw them on the shelves, my heart skipped a beat and I snatched up one of each. 

 

That weekend, I tried the first mix.  The Gluten-Free Kid wanted the yellow cake mix so we whipped up a batch of cupcakes for our friends and family for a 4th of July celebration and these were AMAZING!  The mix was super easy and only contains 9 ingredients (listed below).  I like that it doesn’t contain indecipherable additives.  We only had to add water, dairy free margarine, gluten-free vanilla and eggs.  Super simple and the GFK could make it by himself next time.

The cupcakes had a nice golden color and we topped them with a rich chocolate frosting and festive sprinkles.  The entire dozen was gobbled up by mostly gluten-eating guests within 15 minutes of putting them out.  The cupcakes were moist and not crumbly like most gluten-free mixes and I will absolutely make these again.  Most of our testers said they wouldn’t have known these treats were gluten-free if we hadn’t disclosed it.  To me, that is a great success!

Check back next week for my review on Betty Crocker’s Gluten Free Brownie Mix. 

Yellow Cake Ingredients:  Rice Flour, Sugar, Potato Starch, Leavening (baking soda, sodium acid pyrophosphate, monocalcium phosphate), Xanthan Gum, Salt.  May contacin soy ingredients.

2 responses to “Review: Betty Crocker’s Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix

  1. Thanks for the review.

    I bought the yellow cake mix yesterday at our local King Soopers. I wish they would have had other flavors available. I will have to keep an eye out for the other ones. I can’t wait to make this for my children. They were really excited to see it and want to help put them together.

  2. I am so happy you were able to find the mix Betsy. Please let me know your thoughts! We are still searching for the Devil’s Food mix and will let you know when we get our hands on that one. ~Patty

Leave a Reply

