Recipe: Portobello Mushroom Burgers

 

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

Portobello Mushroom Burgers

If you have been following my blog, you will know that my oldest child has Celiac and many food allergies.  So, I need to get creative about my menus.  Since Big B is GF and mostly vegan, his diet is very restricted.  I wanted something we could grill that would feel like a burger so I gave this recipe a try.  My husband aka The Writer and I thought these were pretty darn good and my kids ate about half a serving.  Yummy?  Yes!  Kid friendly?  Maybe, if yours are as adventurous as mine have become.  Will I make these again?  Yes! 

 

Now that my grill is fired up for the summer, I am excited to try all kinds of new grilled veggies.  Please share your favorite grilled veggie ideas with me in the comments section.  

 

Grilled Portobello Burgers, from All Recipes

Ingredients:

4 portobello mushroom caps

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

2 tablespoons olive oil

pinch each fresh basil and oregano

1 minced garlic glove

salt and pepper to taste

4 GF buns, optional

4 slices vegan cheese, optional

1.  Place the mushroom caps, smooth side up in a shallow dish.  In a bowl, whisk together vinegar, oil, basil, oregano, garlic, salt and pepper.  Pour over the mushrooms.  Let stand at room temperature for 15 minutes, turning once.

2.  Preheat grill to medium high heat.

3.  Brush grate with oil.  Place mushrooms on the grill, reserving marinade for basting.  Grill for 5 to 8 minutes on each side.  Brush with marinade frequently.  Top with vegan cheese last 2 minutes of grilling.  Serve on a GF bun with other veggies on hand.

5 responses to “Recipe: Portobello Mushroom Burgers

  1. What gluten free buns did you use? We have had trouble finding ones that we like. We recently discovered Outside the Breadbox vegan oat bread. It is yummy and does not have that overly eggy taste we commonly find in Gf bread.

  2. We tried a Gf english muffin from Deby’s Bakery. I prefer them bunless though. Less calories that way:) I am still on the search for a great GF bun though and will let you know when I find THE ONE. ~Patty

  3. What is your favorite vegan ‘cheese’. We are casein free so we are a little more limited on ‘cheese’. We have tried several, but I have yet to find on that we like.

  4. Hi Betsy. Check out my latest post! It has been on my list to do a post about our favorite cheese. Thanks to your request, it’s up now. Let me know what you think! ~Patty

  5. I have found a bakery in Arvada called Rheinlanders that sells decent buns..

Leave a Reply

