Recipe: Gluten-Free Chocolate Chunk Cookies

 

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chunk Cookies

I finally broke down and bought a bag of Jules’ All Purpose Gluten-Free Flour.  This flour claims to be a cup-for-cup replacement for wheat-based white flour.  It is a blend of starches and gluten-free flours and contains Expandex Modified Tapioca starch along with xanthan gum.  It sounds too good to be true so I had to give it a try.  I have been looking at the bag in my kitchen for two weeks now trying to decide what to make first with this flour.  I have such high hopes.  

 

Then, today I was packing up Easter basket supplies when I found my youngest son’s chocolate bunny from Divvies.  He’s not a chocolate lover like I am so half of the bunny was sitting there waiting for me to either eat it on the spot or chop it up into chunks and combine it with my new All Purpose Flour and bake cookies.  So, there you have it.  That was my inspiration for today’s recipe.  Gluten-Free Chocolate Chunk Cookies! Yes, they were delicious and everything I could have hoped for.  Best of all, these cookies were super simple since I only had to mess with one flour.  If you are new to the gluten-free world, this flour will be a life saver.  The recipe below only makes about a dozen.  That’s all we need around here.  Enjoy!

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chunk Cookies, adapted from Nestle Toll House recipe

Ingredients:

1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons Jules’ All Purpose Flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup Earth Balance, softened

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/3 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon gluten-free vanilla

1 egg

1 cup coursely chopped chocolate, I used bunny from Divvies

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees

2.  Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl.  Beat Earth Balance, sugars and vanilla in mixer until creamy.  Beat in egg.  Gradually beat in flour mixture.  Stir in chocolate.  Drop by rounded tablespoon onto cookie sheet covered with parchment paper.

3.  Bake 9 to 11 minutes.  Cool on baking sheet.

5 responses to “Recipe: Gluten-Free Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  1. These look great. It is nice to see there is a flour that is so easy to use. I am so intimidated by mixing all the flours. Thanks!

  2. Thanks Roo. Yes, this flour is great for beginners. Wish I had known about it 5 years ago. I will be keeping it on hand for sure.

  3. Thank you!! Dan has recently gone gluten free and feels wonderful. He was crashing each afternoon and complained of brain fog. Our homeopath recommended he ditch the gluten. He feels great now – the fog has lifted….

  4. I tried these cookies with this flour and they were so good! I am so glad there is a way to make my favorite chocolate chip cookie.

  5. I love to hear when the fog lifts…nasty gluten!

Leave a Reply

