The Joy of Gluten-Free Sweet Ginger Tofu

 

Gluten-Free Sweet Ginger Tofu

Gluten-Free Sweet Ginger Tofu

Tofu.  When I first tried it many years ago, I must admit I was very hesitant.  I thought tofu was for strict vegetarians only.  I don’t think that way anymore.  I now fully appreciate tofu and the soy used to make it.  It could be because of my vegan son.  Tofu has allowed him to eat so many new things that he wouldn’t be able to enjoy due to his food allergies.  Our family loves soy milk, soy ice cream, soy cream cheese and yes, a good old block of tofu too.  This recipe has become a favorite of mine and my husband and 3 kids eat it up.  I love it served over rice or gluten-free noodles along with a vegetable stir-fry.    

 

How do you like your tofu?

Sweet Ginger Tofu

Ingredients:

1/4 cup gluten-free soy sauce

1/4 cup sherry

1/4 cup rice vinegar

2 tablespoons minced ginger

2 tablespoons light sesame oil

2 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 pound firm tofu, rinsed, patted dry and sliced 1/2 inch thick

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2.  In a small bowl, combine soy sauce, sherry, vinegar, honey, ginger, oil and garlic.  Lay the tofu slices in a baking dish that can hold them in a single snug layer.  Pour the marinade over the tofu.

3.  Bake for 45 minutes, or until the tofu is nearly dry and well browned.  Serve hot or cold.

One response to “The Joy of Gluten-Free Sweet Ginger Tofu

  1. You’re back! I have missed you.

Leave a Reply

