Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Cookie Dough Ice Cream

 

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Cookie Dough Ice Cream from Turtle Mountain

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Cookie Dough Ice Cream from Turtle Mountain

 

Although I have been living with food restrictions for the past 9 years, I still get really excited when I find new “safe” food products for my food allergic son who also has Celiac Disease.  He gets equally excited. At the age of 9, he had never been able to enjoy cookie dough ice cream, one of my favorites  – until last month.   We were thrilled to finally get our hands on Turtle Mountain’s Purely Decadent cookie-dough flavor.  The company reports it has created “the first-ever dairy-free and gluten-free” cookie dough ice cream.

 

I thought it tasted very close to the real thing and my son liked it but didn’t really have anything to compare it to.  It was lots of fun to try it and we will buy it again.  

Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones

Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones

 

 

We even served it on gluten-free, dairy-free ice cream cones made by Edward & Sons Trading Company’s Let’s Do line.

I was hopeful for the day when gluten-free, dairy-free ice cream was available for my son. There are many more safe products I would like to see in the near future but how about you?  What food products would you like to see for food allergy sufferers?  Share your thoughts here.

8 responses to “Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Cookie Dough Ice Cream

  1. Looks yummy – what a find!

  2. I do find that stores that carry Gluten free products sometimes price the products pretty high. I wonder if anyone has contacted the manufacturers to check it out?

  3. otherwisealilly

    i love the traderjoes dairy free mango soy icecream. Oh heavens.

    come by and have a look at my little place? I am gluten and dairy free, but I like to cook for my friends so I post recipes with options…
    http://www.potatocandies.wordpress.com

  4. I am so glad they make the gluten free cones. Eating ice cream on a cone is such a special treat.

  5. Oh, how I miss Trader Joe’s from our California days. They are not here in Colorado yet. I took a look at your blog potato candies and the crab chowder looks delish. Will have to give it a try. Thanks for stopping by, please come again. ~Patty

  6. Roo, the cones are amazing and nobody can tell they are GF:) All kids should be able to eat a cone at some point, right? Give them a try. ~Patty

  7. I tried this ice cream, the cookie dough one, and loved it! Thanks for posting about it. My 2 kids liked it too.

  8. Glad you like it Roo!

Leave a Reply

