Bit-O-Joy, No. 2 – Get a Class Birthday List

 

Keeping track of student birthday list helps Mom with food allergic kids

Keeping track of student birthday list helps Mom with food allergic kids

All kids want to feel normal and fit in with their peers, especially at school.  Unfortunately, when you suffer from Celiac Disease and multiple food allergies, feeling normal can get tricky.  One of the ways I try to help my food allergic kids fit in is by asking their teachers for a class birthday list at the beginning of the school year.
If I can see from the class list that Natalie has an upcoming birthday and I haven’t heard from her parents yet, I always make a friendly phone call to see if a birthday treat will be sent in to school.  I try to find out what sort of treat will be sent in, what exact day and any other pertinent information.  Once I know these details, I try to match the treat as best as I can and send it in with my kids to enjoy with the rest of the class.  If I have a difficult time reaching the parents, I send in a special treat for my kids on the birthday child’s special day just in case.  
I am very blessed and can say most parents that I have dealt with have been very helpful and proactive with our food allergy issues.  These very special people have no idea how much they touch our lives when they go out of their way to contact us about a celebration and many have gone over and beyond to help my kids feel normal. I am very thankful for those people and hope they know how much they help my kids fit in.
2 responses to “Bit-O-Joy, No. 2 – Get a Class Birthday List

  1. You’re such a good mom!

  2. Parents can be so helpful – one child’s Mom called to see what an allergic child could have at school. Her son felt bad that his classmate could not have the same thing as everyone else. They ended up bringing in some gresh cut up fruit and the whole class really enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

