Gluten-Free Sweet and Sour Pork

Gluten-Free Sweet and Sour Pork

We love chinese food around here and it’s something all 5 of us will actually eat.  It can be very tricky taking a gluten-free kid (GFK) out to a chinese restaurant because of all of the soy sauce and peanut oil issues (he’s also allergic to almost all proteins, including nuts).  So, last night I made Sweet and Sour Pork, one of our favorite dishes and naturally gluten-free!  Give it a try and let me know your favorite gluten-free chinese dish.

Gluten-Free Sweet and Sour Pork

Ingredients:

  • cooking spray (1 spray)
  • 1 1/2 lbs lean pork tenderloins, cut into thin strips
  • 15 ounces canned unsweetened pineapple chunks
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/3 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon table salt
  • 1 tablespoon Gluten-Free Soy Sauce
  • 2 medium green peppers, sliced
  • 1 small onion, sliced
  • 3 cups cooked brown rice, kept warm

Directions

  1. Heat a nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat.
  2. Add pork and cook until golden brown, about 8 to 10 minutes; remove from skillet and set aside. Drain any remaining fat from skillet.
  3. Drain pineapple chunks, reserving juice; set aside.
  4. Combine water, vinegar, sugar, cornstarch, salt, soy sauce and reserved pineapple juice in a small bowl; add to skillet and cook until sauce is slightly thickened, about 2 minutes. Add pork; cook covered over low heat until meat is tender, stirring occasionally, about 30 minutes.
  5. Add peppers, onion and pineapple chunks; cook 5 minutes. Serve over rice. Yields about 1 cup of pork and 1/2 cup of rice per serving.
8 responses to “Gluten-Free Sweet and Sour Pork

  1. Hey Patty,

    Quick question. I can’t have the soy sauce- what do you recommend in its place? Also- what do they put in soy sauce in “chines” plates that makes it that funky orange color, do you know?
    Looks delicious and I would love to try it!
    THanks!

    Em

  2. Hey Em,

    Haven’t heard from you in a while so it’s great to see you’re back! From what I know, the funky orange color can be red food coloring or a combo of ketchup and orange juice…yuck. I prefer the above recipe because it’s all natural, no added junk.

    As for the gluten-free soy sauce question, I haven’t had to deal with that one. But, I did find an interesting recipe for a soy sauce substitute that you might try in my recipe. If you do, please let me know how it works and I will add that update for those who are soy allergic. Hope that helps. ~Patty

    Soy Sauce Substitute

    Ingredients:
    4 tablespoons beef bouillon –
    (watch out for GLUTEN. HerbOX Chicken and Beef bouillon is gluten free.)
    4 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
    2 teaspoons dark molasses
    1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
    1 pinch white pepper
    1 pinch garlic powder
    1 1/2 cups water

    Directions:
    In a saucepan over medium heat, stir together the beef bouillon, balsamic vinegar, molasses, ginger, white pepper, garlic powder and water. Boil gently until liquid is reduced to about 1 cup, about 15 minutes.

  3. Interesting! I haven’t seen this option. I have about half of those ingredients… Maybe I’ll try it. My newest conquest is making myself some GF/DF/SF oreos. I haven’t found a recipe that I like quite yet. My problem is I have such an issue usuing so much butter in recipes! I can’t get the weight watcher out of my head. If you handed me an oreo, I’d eat it but since I know what I’m putting in these I have a harder time with it. Its so weird. Just need to get over it. ITS AN OREO. hahah (what got me started on it was my roommate bringing home a tub of PB and a box of double stuft oreos last night. I was so tempted. SO tempted… I’ll let you know how they turn out when I finish them!
    thanks again

    Em

  4. Coconut Aminos are a great soy sauce alternative.

  5. Pingback: Sweet & Sour Whatever w/ Vegetables « NW Recipes

  6. Coconut Aminos will substitute for soy.

  7. I made this tonight and it tasted really good and it’s great to know there is no hidden nasties in there! So quick and easy, thanks!

  8. Thanks for checking out my blog and I’m so happy to liked the recipe. ~Patty

Leave a Reply

