Our Favorites: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Vegan Cheese

 

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Cheese

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Cheese

I have always been a huge cheese lover!  I remember as a kid, one of my aunts always had string cheese and I would eat it up like it was my last meal and it always made me happy.  Then I married a cheese lover.  Prior to food allergies in our family, we would sit around in the evening with cheese, crackers, bread, fruit and wine and it was heavenly.  That all changed in the year 2000 when our first child, the GFK was born and diagnosed with several food allergies and the main one being DAIRY!  

 

We gave up cheese for a while because all of the cheeses I found had casein and soy and the GFK couldn’t eat any of it with his food allergies.  He eventually outgrew his soy allergy and I found a pretty good cheese.  He loves the Vegan Gourmet Mozzarella from Follow Your Heart.  The GFK eats it sliced with GF crackers in his school lunch, he shreds it and melts it on tortilla chips for nachos and he loves it most of all on GF pizza crusts.  It melts pretty well under the broiler and looks like a normal pizza.

Vegan Gourmet also makes a cheddar and a jack cheese version that the GFK doesn’t care for.  It’s mozzarella all the way for my kid!  But, I would suggest you give those a try as well.

So, tell me.  What is your favorite gluten-free, dairy-free cheese and how do you like it?

3 responses to “Our Favorites: Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Vegan Cheese

  1. I tried that cheese several years ago, but don’t remember if my boys liked it or not. I will have to pick some up this weekend and give it a try again. I am always looking for new ideas!

  2. Pingback: Should Writers Crowdsource? « The Social Writer

  3. Pingback: Gluten-Free Baked Rigatoni « Gluten Free Joy

Leave a Reply

